Trapping Misadventures

30 Jul

Tonight I am trying to trap a skinny little tomcat who’s been coming around for a while. I was at ACCT this evening, watching a DVD about a new method of socializing ferals. It was much longer than I expected, and I didn’t get home until 8:30, well after the time this little guy normally shows up.

I quickly tore up a sheet to make a trap cover, and whipped up the evening’s cat food. The whole time, I could hear meowing, which sounded like it was outside, and I thought to myself, “Oh, no! He’s meowing now? Rats, that means he’s not feral, so NOW what am I going to do with him?”

I served the indoor cats their supper and went out to set the trap, with no sign of the little tabby & white boy. When I came back in, I realized I’d left my cell phone upstairs, and went to get it. While in the bedroom, I could hear the meowing again – not coming from outside, but from the closet!! Poor Sally had been stuck in there since at least early afternoon, possibly mid-morning!

She

Sally atop the cat tree

cannot resist an open closet, and is lightning- fast, so I did not see her sneak in. So now she’s sitting in the window, waiting for the little visitor kitty to show up, and I’m sticking my head out the window every few minutes to see if the trap is still open…

One Response to “Trapping Misadventures”

  1. terrymay2000 July 31, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    Don’t feel bad…..one of my 3 month old kittens ended up stuck between the screen door and the inside door for about 45 minutes the other day. He has a habit of scooting in between the doors just as I am closing the inside door but this time he got by me undetected. Later I heard his meows and opened the door and voila, into the kitchen pops Lennie.

Leave a Reply

